Previously named specialty: General Pathology - Changed officially by the RCPSC on June 19, 2023


  • Chair - Dr. Sadaf Memon (Clinical Assistant Professor McMaster University, Staff Pathologist, Mackenzie Health, Ontario).
  • Vice Chair - Dr. Chen Wang (Staff Pathologist & Associate Professor, Dalhousie University).
  • Secretary treasurer - Dr. Pouneh Dokouhaki (Clinical Assistant Professor University of Saskatchewan).
  • Members at Large - Dr. Amy Bromley (Anatomical Pathologist, University of Calgary).
  • Members at Large – Dr. Nancy Liu (Staff Pathologist, Mackenzie Health, Ontario).
  • Resident representative – DR. Yuanyuan Gu (PGY3, Diagnostic and Clinical Pathology at Dalhousie University.
  • Past Chair – Dr. Kathy Chorneyko (Lab Director, Brant Community Healthcare System, Ontario).

Mission Statement

The Section of General Pathology will advance the interests of General Pathologists and General Pathology Residents in Canada.


Goals and Objectives

  • Advocate for General Pathology both within the Canadian Association of Pathologists/Association Canadienne des Pathologistes (CAP-ACP) and with external organizations including the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada.
  • Improve laboratory medicine in Canada through the support of rural and community pathologists and by increasing educational opportunities in these centres.
  • Provide opportunities for general pathology training, presentation of research, exchange of ideas, and promulgation of employment opportunities at the CAP-ACP Annual Meeting.
  • Promote General Pathology as a career choice among medical students in Canada.

Important documents (updated July 12, 2020):

Job opportunities:

Helpful links/resources:

- last updated March 2024 -