Dr. Donald Rix Award for Resident Travel
Deadline: Sun, 01 Jul

Thanks to a permanent endowment fund from the late Dr. Donald Rix, the CAP-ACP has established the Dr. Donald Rix Award for Resident Travel. The endowment of $10,000 a year is to be used to assist residents or graduate students in a Canadian Department of Pathology/Laboratory Medicine who wish to attend the Annual Meeting of the CAP-ACP to present an original paper or poster.

To inculcate in residents the attributes of critical analysis and scholarly pursuit, and to enhance their ability to synthesize and communicate their observations or findings for critical evaluation by peers.

Award Amount
The number of recipients and the amount of the award could vary each year depending on the number of applications. Should, for whatever reason, all of the endowment interest income in any given year go unused, the remainder shall be used for activities that promote the learning of residents.

Eligibility Requirements
Applicants must be pathology/laboratory medicine residents in a Canadian residency training program. Preference is given to residents/students who are members of the Association. The selection of the award winners is the responsibility of the Review Committee of the Chairs of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine.

Application Procedure
Applicants should indicate on their abstract form for the CAP-ACP Annual Meeting that he/she wishes to be considered for the Dr. Donald Rix Award.

Application Deadline
Same as the CAP-ACP Annual Meeting abstract submission deadline.

Award Recipients

2019 Sarah-Jeanne Pilon    
2018 Mario Capitano    
2018 Sarah Morgan    
2017 Emily Goebel    
2017 Linton David R. Sellen    
2016 Alexandra Pettit    
2007 Dr. E. W. Matshes University of Calgary  Calgary, AB
2008 Dr. Nicholas Roustan-Delatour University of Ottawa Ottawa, ON
2009 Dr. Dominique Trudel Laval University  Quebec, QC
2010 Dr. E.K. Morgen University of Toronto Toronto, ON
2010 Dr. I. Siddiqui University of Western Ontario London, ON
2011 Dr. Scott Bradshaw University of Ottawa Ottawa, ON
2011 Dr. Kate Strachan University of Toronto Toronto, ON
2012 Dr. Ashley Stueck Dalhousie University Halifax, NS
2012 Dr. K.E. Fleming Dalhousie University Halifax, NS
2013 Dr. Miranda Snell McMaster University Hamilton, ON
2013 Dr. Miretter Hanna l’Université Laval Québec, QC
2014 Dr. Sherine Salama Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre Toronto,ON
2015 Dr. Jeremy Daniels McMaster University Hamilton, ON
2016 Dr. Alexandra Pettit